An Incredible Three Times Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Title Champion - Mick Fanning

Date of Record: 2013

The year 2007 marked Mick Fanning's sixth year on the Foster's Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Tour since 2002, and his ninth year on the ASP world qualifying series (WQS) since 1998.

He began his 2007 World Title campaign with a victory at the Quiksilver Pro, the first event on the Foster's ASP World Tour, putting himself on top of the ratings. He won the Santa Catarina Pro in Brazil on 6 November 2007 placing above Taj Burrow and Kelly Slater therefore clinching the 2007 ASP world title.

In 2008 he suffered a mid-season groin injury. He slipped to eighth position on the end of year ratings.

In 2009, Mick Fanning reclaimed his ASP World Champion crown at the famous Pipeline reef break on Oahu's North Shore. Although Fanning was knocked out by fellow Australian Dean Morrison in Round 4, his points lead from winning three of the last four events was enough to secure victory.

In 2013, Mick Fanning was crowned ASP World Tour champion in the ultimate surfing showdown of the 21st century, held in firing 10-15 foot Banzai Pipeline waves and suicide close-outs.

He amazingly collected his third world surfing trophy, on a day of extreme emotions, at the Billabong Pipe Masters 2013, Hawaii. The decisive battle was all about focus and details, not surfing skills, with the Oahu's North Shore as prime stage.