First Female Cricket Team Formed in Australia - Oyster Cove Team Tasmania - Lily Poulett-Harris

Date of Record: 1894

While not being urged to avoid competition, women had few opportunities to compete in sport in Australia until the 1880s. After that date, new sporting facilities were being built around the country and many new sport clubs were created.

The founding mother of women's cricket in Australia was the young Tasmanian, Lily Poulett-Harris, who captained the Oyster Cove team in the league she created in 1894. Lily's team had much success under her leadership and other teams were then established in the league such as: Atalanta (Hobart Quakers), Heather (Hobart) and North Bruny. The following year, Green Ponds, Ranelagh and Huonville would join the competition.

As well as playing each other, the Ladies' team supported male cricketers by providing luncheons for them and playing music at concerts.

Lily sadly became ill with tuberculosis and the obituary from her death in 1897, states that her team was the first to be formed in the colonies.