The First Bullion Coins - The Perth Mint

Date of Record: 1965

Australia became the first nation to issue a bullion coin program which featured four precious metals - gold, silver, platinum and palladium.

All Perth Mint bullion coins are issued as legal tender under the Australian Currency Act 1965.

The legal tender status of Perth Mint bullion coins means their precious metal weight and purity is guaranteed by the Commonwealth Government of Australia.